‘Allo ‘Allo – Welsh Mummy Blogs

When I was asked if I would like to review some performances at the Cardiff Open Air Theatre Festival – 2016 this year I was so excited. Cardiff is really in for a treat this year with a great host of performances coming its way.

My husband and I rarely get a night to ourselves with work commitments and raising our two boys. When we do go out it seems to be for a quick meal at a local restaurant.

Not tonight, tonight we are going to see ‘Allo Allo’ at the Cardiff Open Air Theatre Festival.

We arrived at the open air theatre, It was like walking into a French café. The tables were decorated with table cloths, candles and garlic to add that French café feel to the evening. We were welcomed by staff who were dressed as café waiters and waitresses, they showed us to our seats which was under cover in case it started to rain.

I took time to notice how professional the stage set looked and relaxed whilst I watched the tress surrounding us moving in the wind. I have never been to an open air theatre before, it was a great experience and I don’t think they could have held it in a better place than the beautiful woody Sophia Gardens.

‘Allo ‘Allo by Jeremy Lloyd & David Croft

Running from 7th July – 16th July

From the team that brought you last year’s hilarious staging of Blackadder, by director Simon H West, everyman theatre are pleased to present the hugely popular stage version of ‘Allo ‘Allo at the 2016 Everyman Summer Festival.

‘Allo ‘Allo! is a based on the BBC television British sitcom that was broadcast on BBC One from 1982 to 1992. The story is set in a small-town café in German-occupied France during the Second World War

Café René welcomes summertime audiences to the little French rural town of Nouvion. Owner René Artois risks more than his life on a daily basis during wartime German occupation as he attempts to satisfy the demands of the German Army, the French Resistance, his wife and both his waitresses!

I recall watching ‘Allo ‘Allo as a youngster, I knew the characters but I did not get the humour. As an adult I could appreciate the humour and enjoyed watching the familiar characters act out memorable one-liners such as ‘good moaning’ and ‘I shall say this only once’ I really did enjoy this well acted and directed performance.

All cast members put on a spectacular and very funny performance, they were well directed and true to the original characters they were portraying. At times I forgot I was watching the performance as it was like watching an episode of the TV show itself.

Paul Williams who played café owner René was amazing, he really captivated the audience and kept our attention.

David O’ Rourke who played Herr Flick was a double of the original character, he was well directed and well studied in the mannerism of the original character.

IMG_7904

If you are looking for an evening filled with laughs and French ambiance then get your tickets to see ‘Allo ‘Allo before its to late.

Tickets can be purchased from

https://www.ticketsource.co.uk/cardiffopenairtheatrefestival

Please like me on Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/welshmummyblogs

Follow me – @welshmummyblogs

We received complimentary tickets to the performance in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “‘Allo ‘Allo – Welsh Mummy Blogs

  1. My hubby used to love this programme. He’d really enjoy watching this although I don’t think we’ll get a chance to see it before it finishes x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

